What could be a more blessed song for a confused nation than this 60+ year old classic song of Christian faith – the song titled simply: Whispering Hope?

Allow me to share a most personal insight to those who follow this blog:

My father, a wounded Korean War veteran, died from liver cancer in 1997 most likely contracted from Hep C from blood transfusions received by my father on a hospital ship.    My father was a rather unassuming man – never one to brag about his service – hiding his purple heart and other medals from the eyes of his young sons.   The one thing he did share with me, was his penchant for playing Whispering Hope over and over on his harmonica (along with Shenandoah).  He shared with me how he entertained himself with playing the song during his Korean experience, and how he had thrilled with hearing the Andrews Sisters sing it during a USO show.  He said it was like hearing the angels singing – and every time he played it on his harmonica, he was reminded of the “only good memory” of his time in Korea.

My sweet wife Joan, and my Aunt Lorraine sang his favorite song:  Whispering Hope at his funeral – December, 1997.   I doubt either of them knew why it was so beloved by him – (and by myself as well.)

In a moment of pure inspiration that came to me, two different NEW verses of this incredible song came clearly into my ear while driving just last week.  I pulled the car over, and immediately wrote the words  down.

Only later, after returning home, did I realize that “Hope” is indeed a special, spiritual gift from Christ.  I was stunned when I read the scriptures that formed the very heart of the new verses I clearly heard being sung to me in my ear, by unseen voices, that incredible day.

The HOPE we have as Christians is in the promises of Christ – the promise that Death is not the end – but only the beginning of a beautiful eternity with Him. It’s all about HIM, not a Church, or any other organization of men.

This “HOPE”, is the very embodiment of GRACE -the free gift to all who truly believe in HIM.  The HOPE in the promise that all who truly KNOW HIM will be His Sons (that means ladies too) and literal JOINT HEIRS with Him throughout all eternity.   Imagine that!!  Joint-heirs with the literal Master of the Universe!!   What could be more HOPEFUL than that beautiful promise?

This HOPE is to me the very ANCHOR of Christianity – and in fact that is what I read in Hebrews 6:19 – that it is the very anchor of the soul in times of trouble; most especially at the death of a loved one.

Here is an example of how this incredible “oldie but goodie” should be performed –  but I submit it means SO MUCH MORE with the clarifying verses I received – for it gives the listener the deeper, scriptural meanings.

Tell me if this isn’t a song the  Angel Voices will sing in the heavenly courts?

And here is the Andrews Sisters’ recording back in 1948, that my father likely heard performed live while in Korea:

Additional Verses:

Grace is the Gift of the Savior –  and Hope is the Balm of the Soul

Hope in His Promises given – that Death cannot take its toll!

Such is the Verse of the Psalmist: HOPE is the Power Unseen.

Yes, its a Gentle Persuasion, that Leads us not into Sin.

CHORUS

Christ, as our Anchor so Steadfast,  Rends the Dark Veil from the Soul

Wherever the Master has Entered, He Robs the Grave of its Goal!

Come then, O come my dear Savior –  Come to my Sad, Weary Heart.

Come with your Blessed HOPE of Glory, and Never, O Never Depart.

CHORUS