RobThompson1http://www.deseretnews.com/article/865570680/Utah-pilot-killed-in-Texas-plane-crash-remembered.html

Saturday evening, a truly fine and good man returned home much too early at age 49 due to a fiery plane crash in Texas.  Rob Thompson will long be loved and remembered by his closest friends and family as a tender hearted man who constantly sought to seek for knowledge and truth.

I personally will remember him as a deeply humble and spiritual man who was willing to accept whatever errors of judgement he had made during his walk in this life – recognizing them as they truly are – subjectively honest mistakes – and then when fully appraised and understood,  strove with integrity to “fix what needs fixing” to the best of his ability.

If only ALL men and women could have that attitude, I think the world would be a much better place!

May you rest in peace, Rob Thompson, as you walk once again with the Author of ALL TRUTH – the Lord Jesus Christ, safe in His hands.   Know that I, and your other true friends, will miss you deeply.

How well I remember a cold and stormy Saturday morning when I met Rob at the haunted ruins of the Intermountain Indian School in Brigham City, Utah.  I will never forget when we returned to my vehicle, started the ignition only to hear the lyrics of Billy Dean’s song “Only Here for a Little While” blaring over the radio.

Those lyrics ignited a deeply spiritual and philosophical discussion between us about the meaning of life that lasted over two hours.  There, in my car that morning, Rob shared his concerns and regrets between himself and his immediate family including his children.  Together we concluded that it is never WRONG to start being RIGHT.   We agreed it is never wrong to turn our lives completely over to Christ.

With that in mind – this song’s for you, Rob to share again.  I am confident that if you could tell your friends, children, and loved ones just one thing this day – it would be this message:

Gonna hold who needs holdin’
Mend what needs mendin’
Walk what needs walkin’
Though it means an extra mile
Pray what needs prayin’
Say what needs sayin’
Cause we’re only here for a little while

Today I stood singin’ songs and sayin’ Amen
Saying goodbye to an old friend who seemed so young
He spent his life workin’ hard to chase a dollar
Putting off until tomorrow the things he should have done
Made me start thinking “What’s the hurry, why the runnin’?
I don’t like what I’m becoming, gonna change my style
Take my time and I take it all for granted ”
Cause we’re only here for a little while

Gonna hold who needs holdin’
Mend what needs mendin’
Walk what needs walkin’
Though it means an extra mile
Pray what needs prayin’
Say what needs sayin’
Cause we’re only here for a little while

Let me love like I’ll never see tomorrow
Treat each day as though it’s borrowed
Like it’s precious as a child
Whoa, take my hand
Let us reach out to each other
Cause we’re only here for a little while

Gonna hold who needs holdin’
Mend what needs mendin’
Walk what needs walkin’
Though it means an extra mile
Pray what needs prayin’
Say what needs sayin’
Cause we’re only here for a little while

Gonna hold who needs holdin’
Mend what needs mendin’
Walk what needs walkin’
Though it means an extra mile
Pray what needs prayin’
Say what needs sayin’
Cause we’re only here for a little while