This letter just breaks my heart.

First, of course, is the need to be “anonymous”.  God knows who you are – so why worry about what false teachers in a false church think of you?

Secondly – why is this “anonymous” person not focusing on WHY LD$ Inc. refuses to disclose their full investment portfolio?  When the “City Creek” multi-billion dollar real estate project was announced, the “brethren” were quick to declare the funds were NOT tithing funds – and were drawn from a “separate pocket”.   EXCUSE ME!! It’s all the same pair of suit pants – DUH!

When all is said and done, it’s all about MONEY with those who follow the God MAMMON- the love of which is the very root of all evil.   Mormonism is in reality Mammonism.   Jesus of Nazareth declared as found in Luke Chapter 16:  11 If therefore ye have not been faithful in the unrighteous mammon, who will commit to your trust the true riches? 12 And if ye have not been faithful in that which is another man’s, who shall give you that which is your own?

13 No servant can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon. 14 And the Pharisees also, who were covetous, heard all these things: and they derided him.

Mormon leaders are clearly the modern-day Pharisees.

Here is the Anonymous Letter:

Dear Bishop & Counselors,

Given the church’s tendency to shoot messengers, I will remain anonymous. However, I feel very strongly about something that happened this past Sunday and I need to make sure that you are aware of it.

First off, I should note that I am not blaming or finding fault with any of you. The fault clearly lies in Salt Lake. Since the church has no actual complaint department, you will have to do.

I have held multiple callings within our stake which provided me with a very detailed look at church finances at the ward level. I have a fairly good idea of the ward’s cash flow — expenses, tithing, and other contributions. I know how much comes in, and I know how little of it is used for the benefit of those in our immediate vicinity.

Your request for more missionary funds fell on deaf ears in my case. My wife, who is usually more reserved than I am, shook her head in disgust and whispered “The church has plenty of money” after you made your request. Other members are also starting to wonder where all of the money is going.

I am similarly appalled. The church does have plenty of money. I find it unconscionable that the church can simultaneously claim poverty and invest billions of dollars in real estate development projects. May I point out the following (links are available on request):

  • Development of City Creek Center in Salt Lake – Several billion dollars invested over the last 8 years.
  • Major land purchase in Florida – Over $500 million in 2013 in just one transaction.
  • Construction of a 32-story residence in Philadelphia, announced earlier this year.

The money spent in Florida could have paid for 100,000 missionaries for a year. When families are struggling, profligate use of their money for real estate investments is an insult. Investing in people, especially those of our faith, should take precedence over investing in any of the items I listed above.

Please don’t tell me that these investments are made with funds that are separate and distinct from tithing. The vast majority of the church’s assets originated as tithing, even if they were “washed” through other investments over time.

You and I both know that one week of tithing receipts would be more than sufficient to cover any conceivable shortage in the missionary fund. Why is the church investing in real estate while squeezing more blood from our members?

How many times have we been counseled to save our funds for a rainy day? Why has the church not done the same for missionary funds? At one point, one ward-level missionary fund in our stake had a reserve balance of well over $30,000. This money was apparently confiscated by Salt Lake and used for their own purposes. Hard-earned money donated in good faith by ward members has disappeared and could conceivably be funding the Earthly investments that I listed above.

I also feel compelled to point out that the church’s decision to lower the age requirement for missionaries plays a role here. Before this change, prospective missionaries had more time to earn money for their missions.

Someone, somewhere needs to tell Salt Lake that this is unacceptable.

I have paid a lot of tithing over the years. It remains to be seen if I will be doing so in the future when there are so many other opportunities to make truly charitable donations.

I, for one, would like to see more transparency on the church’s use of money. Vast amounts of money flow from the “mission field” to Salt Lake, never to return. Once again, people are going to be doing the math and asking questions.

Once again, I know that you are effectively caught in the middle, and I know that you have many other issues to deal with. Please feel free to share this message with those whom you report to in Salt Lake so that they may better understand what’s happening out in the mission field.

Sincerely,

Ward Member